Another GBTA Board Member Resigns

Altour senior vice president of sales Doug Payne on Tuesday evening became the second member of GBTA’s board of directors to confirm their resignation amid the controversy surrounding the organization’s CEO. 

Payne’s move follows that of Boeing’s Kathy Briski, who resigned on Friday.

“Altour believes strongly in the importance of GBTA and its role in the industry and will continue to support the organization,” according to a statement from a press official with Altour parent Travel Leaders Group. “Altour cannot comment on the ongoing GBTA investigation.”

The board has initiated an investigation into allegations of misconduct submitted by an unidentified set of employees.

The board now has 12 members including CEO Scott Solombrino’s non-voting position. On administrative leave, Solombrino presumably is not currently involved with GBTA business.

The remaining board members are Tricia Alsup of Dollar General, United’s Jack Cefolia, Best Western’s Dorothy Dowling, Gloria Gonzalez of Freeman Co., BCD Travel’s Will Pinnell, Johnson Downie’s Christle Johnson (chairperson), Bhart Sarin of Ingredion Inc. (president), PayPal’s Denise Truso (vice president), Rita Visser of Oracle, Facebook’s Erin Wilk and NetApp’s Mark Ziegler.

Jay Campbell

Author: Jay Campbell

Jay Campbell in 2004 created travel business newsletter The Beat, in 2006 co-founded Travel Procurement magazine and in 2010 integrated them with Business Travel News. He served as editorial director until 2013. Jay made his travel industry media debut in 1993 at the Air Travel Journal of Boston while earning his undergraduate degree in journalism at Boston University.
Notify of
1 Comment